Turning Back Tuesdays 1

20160628_154103

Every Tuesday I will take a random photo from my phone gallery and post a story about it. I’m going to call this feature Turn Back Tuesday. This is a picture of my entertainment area at home. This is where I vegetate for hours at a time and play every video game that I can get my hands on. As you can see I have all three current gen systems (PS4, X1, and Wii U). I actually do play them all. I am clueless as to which game the credits are rolling for. Video games have such a huge place in my heart and they always have since being a young kid.

My very first game system was an NES Nintendo Entertainment System. The only game I truly remember was Knight Rider. I often tried to play World Class Track Meet but, my granny would yell at me for stomping on the floor. This didn’t keep me and my cousin from trying every chance we had. My granny created a monster when she purchased that NES. From there it was full on video game fever. I grew up as a Nintendo kid and to a degree I still am a Nintendo kid. I say kid because I don’t believe you can outgrow something if there is a passion for it. Many people have told me that I’m too old to play video games. I just tell them to find their own hobby. Nothing relaxes me more than having a joystick in my hand (no pun intended) and the volume on high as I immerse myself in an interactive world.

Things have changed a lot since I was a young kid. Weekends consisted of getting together with a group of friends and playing 4 player split screen. Up for some Goldeneye: 007 anyone? We didn’t even have 30 inch televisions, let alone 60 inches. Despite this everyone had a blast. Now I basically play alone but, how cool is it that I can play people in Japan with the click of a button?

I also collect older game systems and game related material (I swear I am not a hoarder). There is a coolness factor to being able to go back and relive some childhood memories. This past Christmas I received an Atari Jaguar with Doom. It came with the original box, advertisements and everything else. It kind of made me feel like I was opening a brand new copy. Anyone remember when systems came with pack in merchandise catalogs? There was a slick Atari jean jacket in there but, I wouldn’t be caught dead in that in 2016. I never called a video game hotline in my life but, I could imagine that whoever had that job had it made (not really).

Looking back, I don’t know where I’d be without video games. It’s given me so much joy in my life and I couldn’t ask for a better way to kill time. There’s so much that I want to share with you but, something has to be left for the next time. What memories do you have from video games past? What was your first video game system?

Leave a Reply

