Pokemon Go: The Blessing and Curse

Pokemon Go

It’s been less than a week and the Pokemon Go craze has hit me at every corner. I find myself taking bike rides just to visit Pokestops and pick up much needed items. Pokemon Go is a free mobile game that uses augmented reality to bring Pokemon into the real world. The purpose of the game is to get out and go catch your favorite Pokemon. There are also places called Pokestops (public parks, college campuses, other monuments) where you can find items used for progress in game. I’ve captured about 70 or so Pokemon this past weekend. I took a bike ride through the park and managed to find quite a few. It’s a great way to get people off the couch and out into the world. I’ve passed so many people with their phones out trying to catch their next Pokemon. This is a really great idea and it works. It’s similar to geo-caching without the hidden containers. I found this Zubat flying about this guys back yesterday evening at Target. 🙂

20160711_101212.png

I found all of these Pokemon over the weekend while riding through the park.

Screenshot_2016-07-10-12-28-51

Even though this is a really cool game and concept, we have to be really careful when we play. I have a few suggestions and tips for children especially when going out to play Pokemon Go.

  1. Please keep an eye on kids. According to USAToday, teenagers used this app to lure victims into specific areas. There is an item called lure in the game that lure Pokemon to a specific place for 30 minutes. It helps the player progress and upgrade much faster. This item can be triggered my one person but, all players in the area can take advantage of it. The teens used this in an attempt to lure unsuspecting people into robbery situations. This leads to my second tip.
  2. Be aware of your surroundings. Unless your walking around a public place or your own neighborhood, please be aware of where you walk. You can never be too careful.
  3. Look both ways before crossing the street. It’s not uncommon for a youngster to see a Pokemon pop up on their screen and they scurry across a street to grab it before is runs away. I’ve seen a few do this in my neighborhood and I can only pray that parents are teaching their kids to look both ways.
  4. Keep an eye on your phone data usage. The game uses a lot of battery power and a lot of data mainly due to the locations tracker. Walking around all day with the app open could cost you. Please keep that in mind

I definitely recommend this game to anyone kid or adult. It’s a fun take on a mobile game and it gets people out of the house. Unfortunately; someone will always find a way to take advantage of others. I just ask that everyone be safe and enjoy themselves.

 

Leave a Reply

