I Started a Movie Club at Work

20160506_184448

One of my favorite past times is getting together with family and friends to go to the movie theater. I remember one of the local theaters having $4 tickets on Sundays from 2pm to 4pm. Me and my friends could enjoy films and afford them as middle school kids. Who would of thought?

Recently my favorite movie theater has been renovated. This is a picture of my younger cousin with his feet up in the air waiting for our movie to start. The chairs are leather and there is much leg space. The days of squeezing past others in the aisle are gone. I’m sure there are other theaters like this but, it’s the first in my area. Movies just got a lot more comfortable.

I like to talk about the movies I watch with my co-workers. It’s often that no one has even seen most of the films. With that being said, I decided to reach out to my committee leader. My company has a number of employee committee’s and I joined the Intellectual Wellness Committee. We look for ways to stimulate connections and thinking across the company. I thought it would be a great idea to start a movie club. It’s been about six months now and I have to say that it’s been a great experience. I put together a theme and I create a list of 5 -6 films. Everyone votes on them and we have an end of the month discussion. This theme for July is “Valor” and our film is, “Unsung Heroes: The Story of America’s Female Patriots”. We have a lot of females in the club and I figured it would be cool to view a documentary on women in the military.

Next month we are doing Cult Classics. My vote is for The Warriors which is my favorite film of all time. It’s a fun film and it’s just corny enough to not be corny if that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

