Black Thursday is Upon Us

Halloween is less than a week away! This year has flew by and it’ll be Christmas before you know it. I like to get my shopping plan started early so I try to keep an eye out for early pricing. I would consider myself a Black Thursday shopper but, never for anything in particular. I just like to go out and see what trinkets I can find. Despite the crowds it can be a fun experience. One thing I can always say about Black Thursday is that the poor employee’s suffer the worst. I worked almost 10 years in retail and I don’t think I’ll ever go back….holidays suck! When I worked for Target we always purchased catered dinner for our teams throughout the day. They were always very appreciative of that. I will always remember Target for going out of their way to try and bring a piece of home to work. I would assume that most companies don’t value their employee’s in that way. Macys? JCPenney? Kohls? Best Buy? WAL-MART?

I read an article today that Kohl’s is planning on opening at 6 p.m on Thanksgiving and Macy’s is opening at 5 p.m. Who is making these decisions to open these stores this early? While many companies are starting to pull back on opening so early, retail establishments are just pushing forward. I can only speak for myself but, regardless of what time your store opens, If I’m planning to go there I’m going to go. Makes no difference if it’s 6 p.m (ridiculous) or midnight (like it should be). Its greed and it drives me crazy!

Leave a Reply

